GMIT Prospectus 2022/23

GMIT Courses

All higher education undergraduate courses are now categorised as ‘Level 6/ Level 7’ and ‘Level 8’ (see Table 1 for full classi fi cation of higher education awards). You may apply for up to 10 courses in order of preference in both the Level 6/7 category and in the Level 8 category through the CAO system. Offers will be made for the highest Level 8 and for the highest Level 6/Level 7 preferences to which you are entitled based on points scored in the Leaving Certi fi cate.

Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology Academic Progression Routes

Table 1 Classi fi cation of Awards

Postgraduate Qualification (Masters / PhD)

NQAI Level


Doctoral Degree

Level 10

1 Year Add-On Honours Degree

Masters Degree, Postgraduate Diploma

Level 9

Honours Bachelor Degree Level 8 (4 Years)

1 Year Add-On Bachelor Degree Level 7

Bachelor Degree Level 7 (3 years)

Honours Bachelor Degree, Higher Diploma

Level 8

Bachelor Degree

Level 7

2 Year Higher Certificate Level 6

Higher Certi fi cate

Level 6

College Entry

GMIT Courses and Structures All of the academic courses leading to Undergraduate awards at different levels at GMIT are detailed in this prospectus. Each course comprises a de fi ned set of modules which must be passed in order to obtain the award. A module is a block of study in a speci fi c area with clear learning outcomes (what you should know, understand and be able to demonstrate when you have fi nished). It typically consists of a mixture of lectures, tutorials and practical classes and is examined through continuous assessment and/or fi nal examination. Every module is worth a certain number of credits, normally fi ve or a multiple thereof, and is designed to be at a certain level (6, 7 or 8) on the National Framework of Quali fi cation (NFQ). Modules can be delivered within a semester (one half of the academic year) or over a full academic year. Once a module is passed, the student is awarded the appropriate credits and they are retained permanently. GMIT operates a stage-based modular progression system. A stage is an academic year, 1st, 2nd etc, and normally comprises six year-long modules or 12 semester-long modules or a mixture of both. Each stage of a course contains 60 credits and the number of credits required to obtain the different awards are normally as follows:

Some courses are designed to allow students to acquire an honours degree in three years (e.g. Bachelor of Business (Honours) in Accounting). GMIT rules require that a student registers for 60 credits in an academic year to be considered a full-time student. A student who registers for less than 60 credits in a year is considered part-time. Credits may be accumulated for a full award within the student’s chosen timeframe. If full-time students are unable to complete their studies, they will receive an academic transcript specifying the modules they have passed. Students who successfully complete stages one and two of a course are eligible to apply for a Level 6 Higher Certi fi cate in many instances. These are known as Exit Awards and further illustrate the fl exibility of the GMIT awards system.

GMIT courses comprise mandatory modules (which a student must take) and elective modules (which allow the student to

choose). Some of the elective modules are course speci fi c, while others are school or Institute-wide offerings. They offer students the opportunity to broaden their fi eld of knowledge and range of skills .

Higher Certi fi cate: 120 credits at Level 6

Bachelor degree: 180 credits (120 at Level 6 + 60 at Level 7) Bachelor Honours degree: 240 credits (120 Level 6 + 60 Level 7 + 60 Level 8)


Powered by