GMIT Prospectus 2021/22


GMIT Programmes and Structures All of the academic programmes leading to Undergraduate awards at different levels at GMIT are detailed in this prospectus. Each programme comprises a defined set of modules which must be passed in order to obtain the award. A module is a block of study in a specific area with clear learning outcomes (what you should know, understand and be able to demonstrate when you have finished). It typically consists of a mixture of lectures, tutorials and practical classes and is examined through continuous assessment and/or final examination. Every module is worth a certain number of credits, normally five or a multiple thereof, and is designed to be at a certain level (6, 7 or 8) on the National Framework of Qualification (NFQ). Modules can be delivered within a semester (one half of the academic year) or over a full academic year. Once a module is passed, the student is awarded the appropriate credits and they are retained permanently. GMIT operates a stage-based modular progression system. A stage is an academic year, 1st, 2nd etc, and normally comprises six year-long modules or 12 semester-long modules or a mixture of both. Each stage of a programme contains 60 credits and the number of credits required to obtain the different awards are normally as follows:

All higher education undergraduate programmes are now categorised as ‘Level 6/ Level 7’ and ‘Level 8’ (see Table 1 for full classification of higher education awards). You may apply for up to 10 programmes in order of preference in both the Level 6/7 category and in the Level 8 category through the CAO system. Offers will be made for the highest Level 8 and for the highest Level 6/Level 7 preferences to which you are entitled based on points scored in the Leaving Certificate.

Higher Certificate: 120 credits at Level 6

Table 1 Classification of Awards NQAI Level Award Level 10 Doctoral Degree Level 9

Bachelor degree: 180 credits (120 at Level 6 + 60 at Level 7) Bachelor Honours degree: 240 credits (120 Level 6 + 60 Level 7 + 60 Level 8)

Masters Degree, Postgraduate Diploma Honours Bachelor Degree, Higher Diploma

Level 8

Bachelor Degree Higher Certificate

Level 7

Some programmes are designed to allow students to acquire an honours degree in three years (e.g. Bachelor of Business (Honours) in Accounting). GMIT rules require that a student registers for 60 credits in an academic year to be considered a full-time student. A student who registers for less than 60 credits in a year is considered part-time. Credits may be accumulated for a full award within the student’s chosen timeframe. If full-time students are unable to complete their studies, they will receive an academic transcript specifying the modules they have passed. Students who successfully complete stages one and two of a programme are eligible to apply for a Level 6 Higher Certificate in many instances. These are known as Exit Awards and further illustrate the flexibility of the GMIT awards system. GMIT programmes comprise mandatory modules (which a student must take) and elective modules (which allow the student to choose). Some of the elective modules are programme specific, while others are school or Institute-wide offerings. They offer students the opportunity to broaden their field of knowledge and range of skills.

Level 6

Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology Academic Progression Routes

Postgraduate Qualification (Masters / PhD)

1 Year Add-On Honours Degree

Honours Bachelor Degree Level 8 (4 Years)

1 Year Add-On Bachelor Degree Level 7

Bachelor Degree Level 7 (3 years)

2 Year Higher Certificate Level 6

College Entry


Powered by